Change LanguageClose
Skip

Industry Highlights

Industry Highlights

Blazing a trail

Hong Kong has been able to blaze a trail in many areas of I&T developments, bringing concepts and researches out of the laboratories into the community for the betterment of people’s life. 

AI and Robotics

The Covid-19 pandemic resulting in a new normal of life worldwide, such as physical distancing and work-from-home model, has spurred a more frequent and wider application of AI and Robotics. The wide applications of robots have also disrupted the traditional practices of many industries such as logistics, construction and the medical sector. With its proximity to the Mainland, Hong Kong acts as a gateway for AI and Robotics companies to exploit the massive manufacturing base in the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area (GBA).

Big Data Analytics 

Industry Highlights Big Data Analytics

Different sectors of Hong Kong, both private and public, have widely adopted big data analytics to keep abreast with the fast-paced development of digitalization worldwide. Data-centric businesses such as finance, logistics, retail and hospitality have called for some dramatic changes, such as real-time management and responsive customer services. Achieving these goals, therefore, raises the demand for big data analytics to examine and analyze large amounts of data for added competitiveness.

In the public sector, big data analytics is playing a key role in helping the HKSAR Government to implement its smart city’s initiative and open up government data for public use. The dedicated Public Sector Information (PSI) portal and the HA Data Collaboration Laboratory (HADCL) set up by Hong Kong Hospital Authority (HA) are good examples to illustrate a growing demand for the technology. In 2021, the Data Technology Hub (DT Hub) is launched, taking Hong Kong a big step forward in the development of big data analytics.

Biomedicine

Innovation in biomedicine has opened up new modes for modern healthcare in Hong Kong and beyond. Businesses engaged in Hong Kong’s biomedical sector cover a wide spectrum from therapeutics, medical services and devices, to health tech and traditional Chinese medicine. The city offers numerous advantages for the sector to grow, such as robust intellectual property protection and legal systems, top-tier medical experts from universities and a strong capital market. In addition, with the support of different funding schemes and incentives, and the facilitation measures of the GBA, industry players are able to tap into the huge Mainland market.

Cloud Technology

Hong Kong has a high demand for cloud-based services as exemplified by the strong presence of leading cloud service providers from the US and Mainland China. The adoption of cloud technology is the key to the digital transformation of various sectors, especially the finance, retail, hospitality and logistics industries. The HKSAR Government is also committed to delivering e-services and information as the city actively pursues the path to become a smart city.

Data Centres

Hong Kong has all the required environmental elements for setting up advanced and high-tier data centres, taking into account their unique mode of operation. The city has a low risk of natural calamities such as earthquakes and tornadoes; enjoys a supremely high reliability level of electricity and water supply with low tariffs in comparison with other cities in the region. Most importantly, the HKSAR Government is proactive in assisting enterprises interested in setting up data centres in Hong Kong, such as allocating dedicated sites, and facilitating conversion of existing industrial buildings and industrial lots for data centre operations. 

Green Technology

Industry Highlights Green Technology

The HKSAR Government, by means of different initiatives, is keen to explore and promote new environmentally-friendly (green) technologies with the goal of achieving carbon neutral by 2050. These initiatives include enhancing the energy efficiency of buildings, popularisation of electric vehicles, building large-scale waste-to-energy facilities, exploring other renewable energy applications and monitoring air and water quality.

Microelectronics

R&D work for Hong Kong’s microelectronics industry is spearheaded by a rich pool of research talent and some world-class clusters and facilities. These include the Data Technology Hub and the Microelectronic Centre, two “built-to-fit” models to develop and enhance microelectronics chips’ design and performance. Taking advantage of Hong Kong’s rigorous intellectual property protection, excellent communications and transport networks, and relevant tax/tariff privileges, Hong Kong is well-positioned as the regional hub for research collaboration and trading activities for the microelectronics industry.

Smart City and IoT Technology

The HKSAR Government put forward the Smart City Blueprint 2.0 in December 2020, outlining more than 130 initiatives under six smart areas, namely “Smart Mobility”, ”Smart Living”, ”Smart Environment”, “Smart People”, “Smart Government” and “Smart Economy”. These initiatives are meant to enhance and expand Hong Kong’s existing city management measures and services.

Software and Services

The industry is a key component of Hong Kong’s ICT sector, enjoying strong demands from SMEs and multinationals. Many of the world’s leading software-service companies have set up their regional operations in the city to mirror their clients' preferences. Hong Kong’s rigorous protection of intellectual property and tech-savvy consumers provide companies with the perfect testbed for the Mainland markets. 

Telecommunications

Hong Kong has the world’s highest penetration rates of mobile subscribers and household broadband with telecommunication networks connecting to 11 regional and trans-Pacific submarine cable systems. The city’s liberalised policy with no restrictions on foreign ownership or limits to the number of market operators of Internet transit, exchange, hosting and content providers. Overseas and Mainland telecommunications companies have been riding on the open market to drive their business developments in the region.

Contact Us
Leave your details and we'll be in touch.

Refresh the captcha Play the captcha audio

The personal information you have provided will help us deliver, develop and promote our services. By submitting your details, ticking the boxes and clicking "Submit" indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Please read these to understand your data rights.

Change LanguageClose
Skip

行业亮点

Industry Highlights

创新领航 表现亮丽

香港在创新科技多个范畴都能开辟新领域,成功将实验室中的概念和研究带进社区,改善人们生活。

人工智能和机械人技术

2019冠状病毒病大流行令香港及世界各地形成生活新常态,如保持社交接触距离和在家工作,这令人工智能和机械人技术的应用变得更加频密和广泛。另一方面,机械人的广泛应用亦令物流、建筑和医疗等行业跳出传统的运作框架。香港毗邻内地,自然成为人工智能和机械人技术公司开拓粤港澳大湾区(大湾区)庞大制造基地的门户。

大数据分析

大数据分析

不论商业或公共事业,香港的不同界别已广泛应用大数据分析技术,以跟上全球数码化的快速发展步伐。金融、物流、零售和酒店等行业都十分倚重数据来革新业务,希望达致实时管理和快速回应客户等目标。工商业界因此急需大数据分析技术来进行市场分析,以提升竞争能力。

公共事业方面,香港特区政府锐意构建智慧城市和开放政府数据供公众使用,大数据分析技术亦因此大派用场。政府开设专用数据网站PSI;香港医院管理局(医管局)建立数据实验室HADCL,两者进一步显示市场对大数据分析技术的需求有增无减。 2021年,「数据技术中心」投入服务,香港的大数据分析技术又向前迈进一大步。

生物医学

生物医学不断创新,为香港及其他地区的现代医疗开辟了新模式。香港的生物医学涵盖治疗法、医疗服务及设备、康健科技和传统中医药。业界的发展亦受惠于香港各项优势,包括严谨的知识产权保障制度和法律体系、来自大学的顶级医学专家团队和强大的资本市场。此外,凭借不同的资助计划和有利政策,以及大湾区的便利措施,香港生物医学业界可以进入庞大的内地市场,一展拳脚。

云端运算

美国和内地的主要云端运算供应商纷纷在香港开展业务,足证香港不同产业对此技术的需求不断上升。云端运算对产业数码转型甚为重要,其中对金融、零售、酒店和物流业的作用尤见显著。此外,香港特区政府积极发展为智慧城市,为市民提供电子公共服务和讯息,云端运算亦在其中担当举足轻重的角色。

数据中心

香港得天独厚,拥有各项所需的环境要素,符合开设高端数据中心的要求,如面对地震和龙卷风等自然灾害的风险较低、与亚洲区内城市相比,水电供应可靠且费用低廉等等,均有利高端数据中心的独特营运模式。最重要的是,香港特区政府积极协助业界,特选地点和改建现有工业大厦和工业用地,以供营运者使用。

绿色科技

绿色科技

香港特区政府竭力开辟和推广各项崭新的环保(绿色)科技,冀在2050年达到碳中和的目标,当中的策略包括提升建筑物能源效益、普及使用电动车、建设大规模的废物转化能源设施、探索其他再生能源应用方案,以及监测空气和水的质量。

微电子

香港拥有一群研发专才和多项世界级集群设施,令微电子产业的研发工作得以火速前进。「数据技术中心」和「微电子中心」为两项度身建造的先进设备,以开发和提升微电子芯片的设计和性能。凭借严谨的知识产权保护制度、先进的通讯和交通网络,以及相关的税收/关税优惠措施,香港足以成为区内的微电子研发合作基地和贸易枢纽。

智慧城市和物联网技术

香港特区政府于2020年12月推出《香港智慧城市蓝图2.0》(《蓝图2.0》),勾划出六大智慧范畴,包括「智慧出行」、「智慧生活」、「智慧环境」、「智慧市民」、「智慧政府」和「智慧经济」,目的是利用创新科技提升和扩阔现行城市管理的策略和服务。

软件及相关服务

此乃香港资讯及通讯科技业的重要元素,中小企和跨国公司对此需求甚殷,因此吸引众多国际知名软件公司在香港开设地区业务。香港拥有完善的知识产权保障制度和庞大的科技消费群组,这对有意向内地市场引入新产品的商家,绝对是一个极佳的试验平台。

通讯科技

香港的流动电话服务用户和住户宽频渗透率,均位居世界前列。现时,香港的电讯网络连接11个区域和横跨太平洋的海底电缆系统。香港采取全面开放市场的政策,对互联网接入及转接、数据交换、寄存及内容提供的外资营运商的拥有权或公司数目上限,均不设任何限制,让海外及内地公司可以在区内自由开拓业务。

联系我们
请提供联络资料,我们将尽快与您联系。

重新绘画验证码 播放验证码音讯

投资推广署收集阁下的所提供的个人资料,以便为您提供本署的服务。当您提供联络数据、勾选方框以及点击「递交」按钮,即表示您已阅读并明白及同意本署的私隐政策。请详细阅读及了解您拥有个人资料保密之权利。